If you are wondering how to delete a telegram account, we will tell you which options you have in that term.
The popularity that Telegram has achieved in recent years is undeniable. Especially this 2021, after millions of users migrated from WhatsApp due to its new privacy policies.
Although Telegram has always been characterized for being one step ahead of WhatsApp in terms of features and security, the reality is that Facebook’s messaging app has remained the most used on the planet, but that does not minimize the large number of users that the blue application currently has.
In this case we will mention how Telegram allows users to delete an account, either by applying the self-destruct method or immediately.
How to delete Telegram account
As mentioned above, Telegram allows the user to be able to schedule the deletion of their account or do it immediately.
If deleting your Telegram account on that way seems a little drastic, we inform you that this is not the only way to remove your information from the application server and definitely close your Telegram account.
If you want to delete your account on a less direct way, you can choose for the Account Self- destruction option. This setting offered by Telegram consists on setting a time for your account to be automatically deleted.
If you want to schedule the deletion of the account you must do the following:
- Log in to Telegram and go to the icon with the three horizontal lines.
- You will see a menu of options and go to select Settings.
- Now go to the Privacy and security section.
- When you have selected that option, Telegram will offer you a list of available time periods, ranging from one month to one year.
- The account will self-delete in the time you have selected, as long as you have no activity within the app.
Another thing is that by activating this option you will not be able to log back into Telegram and use it, because otherwise, the count will be reset and the deletion process will take longer.
In this way, your user information will be active for a while, even if you do not receive the messages. Every group, channels, bots, conversations and chats that you have had will be available for the rest of users. Your data and information will still be in the application server.
Delete telegram account immediately
- The first thing you should do is to go to the deactivation section on the official Telegram website, that you can join there through this link.
- Once there, you must enter the phone number you are associated with the application.
- When you have included your phone number, make sure you press the next option, so that the app sends you the corresponding code to complete the action.
- Once you have the confirmation code that you will receive through the same application, the process will be irreversible.
An important tip at this point is to use the web to delete your Telegram account. This is because the confirmation code you need will be sent to you through the application itself, and not as an SMS or email.
- Then select Delete My Account, and answer a brief question that Telegram will ask you, about the reasons that lead you to leave the app.
- Once the process is finished, the company will delete all your data from the server.
When you have completed these simple steps your account will be eliminated, so it is understood that you will no longer have access to the groups or channels to which you were subscribed.
What will happen with the contacts I have if I delete my Telegram account?
Once you unsubscribe from your Telegram account, your contacts will receive an automatic message in which they will be informed that you have left Telegram.
Just as we receive a message to let us know that one of our contacts has joined to Telegram, we receive a notification to let us know that one of them is no longer available. This is useful, since we know that we will not be able to locate that user among our contacts.
How do the groups I have created will look like?
Once you eliminate and uninstall your account on Telegram, you will not have any access to the information contain in there. The chats, saved information, access to channels and groups will be lost.
However, those channels and groups will be available for the rest of the users and subscribers, and they will still continue having access to messages or files you have sent.
Can I get my Telegram account back later?
If after a while you want to get your application back, you will have to download it once again and configure it, but you will not have the same groups or information you had before. In other words, once you eliminate it, you will lose that information forever.
With this information, you will be able to decide if you are going to take the next step or you are not. If you are ready, let us tell you how to delete your Telegram account.